Skip link #3:
Skip to section/department menu
Marriage License Applications
* Important Notice *
Marriage licenses are available by appointment only.
Please call the Recorder's Office at 218-846-7304 to schedule an appointment.
Marriage applicants are required to first complete and submit their marriage license application online in the Minnesota Official Marriage System (MOMS).
If you do not have access to a computer or cell phone, you may use the public computer at the Becker County Recorder's Office. Applications will be accepted between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m.
After completing the MOMS online application as noted above, applicants must then apply IN PERSON and present proof of age. Proof of age is established by one of the following:
- Certified copy of a birth certificate
- Driver's license or other identification card issued by a government entity.
- A school record, immigration record, naturalization record, court record, or other document or record issued by a government entity that contains the date of birth of a party.
The marriage license application can be filled out online. The application does NOT need to be printed by the applicants. Signatures will be done in person at the
time of completion and payment in the Recorder’s Office. Applicants must appear in person to complete the application process within 90 days. If one of the
applicants cannot appear in person, please contact the Recorder's Office to discuss your options.
If either person has had a previous marriage, they must indicate termination type (death, divorce or annulment), the date, city, state,
and county of termination on the application.
Both applicants must be at least 18 years of age.
Applicants with felony convictions are required to follow MN Statute 259.13 and 259.14 to change their name. Parties convicted of a felony can apply to the courts
for a name change within 180 days of the marriage, and if accepted, the name change will be free of charge under MN Staute 259.13, subdivision 5. Applicants
must provide a certified copy of their marriage certificate to the courts.
The license may be used anywhere in Minnesota. The license shall be valid for a period of six months.
Marriage License Fees
The application fee is $115. The fee for parties who have completed at least 12 hours of premarital education is $40. In order to qualify for the reduced
license fee the applicants must submit, at the time of applying for the marriage license, a signed, dated and notarized (or church seal) Educator's Statement (PDF)
from the person who provided the premarital education on their letterhead confirming the education was received.
The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under
Minnesota Statutes, Section 517.18 or a person authorized
to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, Section 148B.33. The education must
include the use of premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.
If a replacement Marriage License needs to be issued, there is a $25 replacement fee.
The fee is payable to the Becker County Recorder and can be paid by cash, check, money order or card (2.5% convenience fee applies to card payments).
No refunds are issued.