Planning Commission

Planning Commission Member's purpose is to consider applications for land subdivisions, rezoning amendments, conditional uses, multi-unit developments and amendments to the Zoning Ordinance. The Planning Commission is a recommending board. The recommendations of the Planning Commission are forwarded to the County Board of Commissioners for final decision.

The Planning Commission consists of not less than eleven (11) members, two people from each Commissioner's District and one commissioner. No member of the Planning Commission shall have received, during the two years prior to appointment, any substantial portion of income from business operations involving the development of land within the county for urban and urban related purposes.

The County Board of Commissioners shall make new appointments on January 1 of each year. Each member is appointed to a three-year term in a rotation. An appointment to fill a vacancy shall be only for the unexpired portion of the term.

The Planning Commission members will receive a per diem as allowed by the County Board of Commissioners for each meeting, tour or special meeting attended. The current per diem rate is $50.00 per meeting. Mileage is reimbursed, at the current County rate, for mileage to and from the meeting place and for those members that drive their vehicle on the tour date.

Regular meetings will be held at least once a month. This meeting is held the second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. The tour date is held the Wednesday before the regular meeting at 8:00 am. On the tour date, the files are reviewed, and then the Board will visit each property.