Anyone who engages in any temporary or transient business, either in one locality or in traveling from place to place,
within Becker County to sell goods or services is required to obtain a Transient Merchant License. The term "transient
merchant" does not include a seller or exhibitor in a firearms collector show involving two or more sellers or exhibitors.
The license is valid at one sale location only and not valid for more than one person, unless that person is a member
of a co-partnership. The license is only valid in Becker County.
$150.00, payable by cash or check. Make checks payable to: Becker County Auditor-Treasurer. The licenses are
valid one year from the date of issuance.
Apply by mail
Complete the application forms and include:
- A Surety Bond, conditioned on the terms as stated in Minnesota Statute 329.11, in an amount not less
than $1,000 nor more than $3,000 made payable to Becker County.
- An itemized list of merchandise to be offered for sale, listing a description of each item, serial number
of each item, actual cost of each item, and a designation by number corresponding with a number to be affixed
to each items by a tag which shall be kept fastened to the item at all times until sold.
- A copy of the seller's permit as issued under Minnesota Statute 297A.83
or a written statement from the applicant stating that applicant is not offering for sale any item that
is taxable under Chapter 291A.
Send the completed application forms, necessary fees and additional required documents to:
Becker County Auditor-Treasurer
915 Lake Ave
Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
Any person, either as principal or agent, conducting business as a transient merchant without having first obtained
a license is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
For more information, see Minnesota Statutes 329.099-329.17
and Chapter 297A.83.